NCAA Golf News

Haskins Award Finalist – Stanford University Athletics

Haskins Award Finalist - Stanford University Athletics

COLUMBUS, Ga. – Stanford junior Michael Thorbjornsen was named one of 10 finalists for the 2023 Haskins Award on Monday morning. Thorbjornsen, who is also a finalist for the Ben Hogan Award which will be presented this evening, looks to become the fourth Cardinal to win the Haskins Award (Tiger Woods, 1996; Patrick Rodgers, 2014; Maverick McNealy, 2015).
Thorbjornsen has enjoyed an impressive junior campaign with two wins, eight Top 8s and four Top-3 finishes. His 68.77 scoring average through 31 rounds is on pace to break Maverick McNealy’s school record of 69.05 set during his Haskins Award-winning season of 2014-15.
The 2023 Pac-12 Golfer of the Year, Thorbjornsen has claimed victories at the season-opening Fighting Illini Invitational and also won the Pac-12 Championships. In total, he has helped the Cardinal to three team victories this season.
Of his 31 rounds entering NCAA Championships, Thorbjornsen has played 25 of them at even-par or better. He is 30-under over his seven postseason rounds thus far, with rounds of 9-under 63 to open the Las Vegas Regional and 7-under 63 to open the Pac-12 Championships. In total, Thorbjornsen is 62-under on the season.
Voting, which begins today, will remain open through the final round of NCAA stroke play competition (May 29).


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Stanford University Athletics…