NCAA Golf News

Women’s Golf Hosts Tenth Annual Unger-DeBlasio Cup

Women's Golf Hosts Tenth Annual Unger-DeBlasio Cup

PISCATAWAY, N.J. – Rutgers women’s golf hosted another successful Unger-DeBlasio Cup on Friday morning at the Rutgers University Golf Course.

The 10th annual cup featured 96 participants, including Rutgers Athletics and Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer Theresa Grentz.

The event celebrated 46 years of Rutgers women’s golf “On the Banks.” The cup received its name in honor of Jan Unger and Art DeBlasio.

In 1977, women’s golf became an intercollegiate sport at Rutgers University led by 17-year Head Coach Jan Unger.

Directing the Scarlet Knights from 1978-1995, Unger laid the solid foundation that can be attributed to the program’s current success. DeBlasio served as the assistant coach under Unger for many years, while holding the position of Head Golf Professional at the Rutgers Golf Course from 1966-2001. DeBlasio celebrates more than a half century membership with the PGA.

At the event, the program honored its acedemic all-americans and Big Ten Distinguished Scholars. Leigha Devine was presented with her Big Ten All-Championship Team plaque, which she earned after a 5th-place finish at the 2023 Big Ten Championships. It was the best finish in program history at the event. Devine was also recignized as the 2023 Maura Waters Ballard Scoring Champion with a scoring average of 73.47 

Lisa Jensen was honored as teh recipient of Don and Penny Pray Service Award. Jensen works with the Rutgers Center for Adult Autism Services (RCAAS) and Rutgers student veterans. Jensen also supports women’s and youth programming at the Rutgers University Golf Course, is an avid Rutgers women’s basketball fan and is a great supporter of Rutgers golf.

Letterwinners in Attendance

Letterwinner Grad Year
Ballard, Maura 1988
Fradkin, Liz 2012
Greenham, Ash 2019
Henson, Jill 2002
Liwski Bocra, Gia 1999
Melia, Michelle 1996
Ness, Stephanie 2009
Olsen, Danaka 2001
Paulsen, Christina 2016
Young, Donna 1979

All-Time Unger-DeBlasio Cup Champions

2013:    Bob Bernabe, Bill Garbarini, Mike Malekoff, Chris Strivieri

2014:    Bob Bernabe, Bill Garbarini, Mike Malekoff, George Oram,

              Emily Mills

2015:    Bob…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Rutgers University Athletics…