The Rules of Golf have evolved over centuries, and they have expanded to encompass almost every scenario that you’re likely, or it’s possible to experience on the links. For that reason, there are some fairly obscure Rules, clarifications to the Rules and definitions within the Rules. Here we look at five Rules that you might not be aware of but might just help you out when an unusual situation crops up out on the golf course.
Underground ball
Imagine this scenario. You’ve teed off and your ball heads dangerously close to the out of bounds (OB), it disappears from view. Upon searching, there’s no sign of the ball but there are various badger holes in the vicinity just out of bounds. You look down a hole (that is just OB) and can see your ball a few feet along – it’s in bounds but underground. Your ball has entered an animal hole out of bounds but has rolled back in bounds under the ground. What do you do?
Well, clarification 16.1b/1 will come to your aid! – It covers, the relief procedure when a ball lies in underground abnormal course condition and it states that if “a ball enters an animal hole through an entrance that is in a spot that is out of bounds. Part of the hole is in bounds and in the general area. The ball is found at rest in bounds, underground and in the general area. Relief is taken under Rule 16.1b for a ball in the general area. The spot where the ball lies in the animal hole is used to determine the nearest point of complete relief and the relief area must be in the general area.”
So – you get a free drop! Even if you can’t get your original ball back, you can drop a different ball.
Stay patient
It’s a rainy day and there’s a lot of temporary water on the course. Your ball has landed in a mini river heading across the fairway. It’s flowing so strongly that your ball is steadily moving. When you reach it, the nearest point of complete relief is in a line of bushes up the side of the hole. But, as your ball is on the move, it looks like, in about 30 seconds time, your nearest point of complete relief will be on the fairway. Are you breaking the rules by hanging around to see what happens?… The answer is No. Clarification 16.1/6 is in your favour – It says…
“When a ball is moving in temporary water, whether a player chooses to lift the moving ball or substitute another ball in taking relief under Rule 16.1, the player is allowed to let the ball move to a better spot before determining the…
..
Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Latest from Golf Monthly in Golf-rules…