Golf News

Golf Rules Refresher: Bunker Essentials

Golf Rules Refresher: Bunker Essentials


Rule 12.1 says a ball is in a bunker if any part of the ball touches sand on the ground inside the bunker or any part of the ground inside the edge of the bunker on which there is normally sand.

A ball is not considered to be in a bunker if it lies on soil or grass inside the edge of the bunker without touching any sand. Therefore, if the ball is plugged in the earth face of a bunker, it is not considered to be in the bunker. You would be entitled to proceed under rule 16.3b if you wished to do so and take free relief outside the bunker.

..

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Latest from Golf Monthly in Golf-rules…