American pro Gabby Lemieux was disqualified before the start of Ladies European Tour Q-School in Morocco on Tuesday after reportedly missing her first-round tee time.
According to Ryan French of Monday Q Info on X, Lemieux is believed to have suffered an issue with the alarm on her phone, causing her to oversleep and consequently fail to make her 9:41am slot alongside Mexico’s Mariam Colon and Sweden’s Isabella Deilert. The trio were due to be the second group of the day to begin on the first tee.
The 28-year-old from Caldwell in Idaho was signed up to be in a 61-player field at Samanah Golf by Nicklaus – one of four sites used for the first round of LET Q-School along with Golf Club Rotana, Noria Golf Club and Palm Golf Ourika.
However, after making the long trip from the north-west corner of America to northern coast of Africa and having paid her entry fee, Lemieux has been forced to return home without hitting a shot in anger.
The LET’s Pre-Qualifying rounds will continue on Wednesday and Thursday, with the top-23 and ties at three of the four sites (top-24 and ties at Noria) progressing through to the final round at Royal Golf Marrakech & Al Maaden Golf Marrakech between December 16-20.
Absolutely gut-wrenching mistake for American Gabby Lemiuex at @LETgolf Q-school. She was DQ’d this morning after missing her tee time. According to people I spoke with there was an issue with the alarm on her phone. Entry fee to and trip to Morocco and never hit a shot:December 10, 2024
Remarkably, this is not the first time the former Texas Tech player has been disqualified from a Q-School tournament, with another infraction taking place at LPGA Tour’s version in August 2023, as reported by Monday Q Info’s French.
During the final round of the first stage at the Dinah Shore course at Mission Hills last year, Lemieux accused one of her playing partners of twice replacing her ball incorrectly on the green – said competitor was right on the cut line, too.
After the first incident, Lemieux is said to have approached the other player in their group and ask if they saw something similar. When the Caldwell native claims that she saw it happen again, Lemieux reportedly talked to a rules official instead of confronting the alleged offender.
When the official came over to assess the player in…
..
Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Golf Monthly…