NCAA Golf News

Top Seeded Men’s Golf Heads to Las Vegas Regional

Top Seeded Men's Golf Heads to Las Vegas Regional

No. 4 Sun Devil Men’s Golf begins its quest to Grayhawk Golf Club as the No. 1 Seed in the Las Vegas Regional. The Sun Devils tee off at 7:30 a.m. in the first pairing with Stanford and Virginia Monday morning. The event will be held Monday, May 15 – Wednesday, May 18. Arizona State has been to the NCAA Championship every year since 2015, including all six chances under Head Coach Matt Thurmond. ASU is in its third and final year of hosting the NCAA Championships at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, AZ. The hosts finished as the National runners-up in 2022.


  • Bears Best Golf Club will host the Las Vegas Regional
  • The course is a par-72, 7217 yard course.
  • Sun Devil Men’s Golf has never competed at Bears Best.


  • NCAA Regional format is 18-holes in each of its three rounds.
  • ASU will send a five-man lineup, with the top four scorers on each day counting.
  • Substitutions are allowed in between rounds.
  • ASU will tee off in the first pairs with Stanford and Virginia at 7:30 a.m. AZT Monday morning. 


  • ASU is joined by – in order of seed – Stanford, Virginia, Oklahoma State, Northwestern, ETSU, Cincinnati, San Francisco, UNCG, Long Beach State, Oregon State, Davidson, Lehigh



  • Coach Thurmond has now reached the NCAA Championship in all five chances at ASU. 
  • Since becoming a head coach in 2002, his squads have made the NCAA Championship in 17 of his 20 seasons, missing only in 2016, 2011 and 2007.


  • Arizona State is one of eight schools to have both its men’s and women’s teams reach Grayhawk in each of the first two years of hosting, along with Florida State, Georgia, Oklahoma State, Oregon, Texas, Vanderbilt and Wake Forest.
  • Getting to Grayhawk isn’t easy, as eight teams ranked in the Golfstat top 30 after regional action had their season’s end in 2022. 


  • Sun Devil Men’s Golf has five golfers on the Pac-12 All-Conference teams, headlined by Freshman of the Year Michael Mjaaseth.
  • 2023 Thunderbird Collegiate winner Preston Summerhays and Josele Ballester joined Mjaaseth on the Pac-12 First Team. Freshman Luke Potter and senior Ryggs Johnston each received Pac-12 Second Team honors.
  • It’s the first time since the Pac-10/12 began awarding end-of-season honors in 1985 that ASU has five…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Arizona State University Athletics…