NCAA Golf News

Vanderbilt Women’s Golf | Title Run Begins Friday

Vanderbilt Women's Golf | Title Run Begins Friday

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — For the 12th time in its history and for the second season in a row, Vanderbilt will compete for a national championship when it tees off Friday at the Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Arizona, at the NCAA Championships.

The Commodores advanced to the final event of the 2022-23 season by taking third at the Westfield Regional earlier this month. They are one of 30 teams—the largest championship field in the sport’s history—looking to be the final squad standing after six possible days of competition.

“Getting to Grayhawk is what every team strives for each year and so we’re grateful to be one of the last 30 teams still playing golf this season,” Vandy head coach Greg Allen said. “But this group isn’t content with just being here. They truly believe we have what it takes to make some noise this week and take this program to a place that it’s never been in the match play National Championship era.

“I’m proud of this team for staying committed to the process of trying to get one day better each day this season.”

Vandy went 16-under-par at the Westfield Regional and wound up just three shots back of champions Mississippi State to become one of five squads from that tournament to advance to the next round. In 2022, the Dores won the Franklin Regional to punch their ticket to Grayhawk.

Allen will once again ride with the lineup of Celina Sattelkau, Tillie Claggett, Lynn Lim, Virginie Ding and Tess Davenport. Jayna Choi will be present as a possible substitution in Arizona.

“Grayhawk will be a great test for everybody this week so we know we need to be disciplined off the tee and find a way to get the ball in the fairway. We also need to be patient around the greens,” Allen said. “We also need to continue doing the little things really well this week and that’s something this group did great with last week at the regional.”

The Commodores will be joined at Grayhawk by Arizona, Augusta, Baylor, Clemson, Duke, Florida State, Georgia, Louisiana State, Michigan State, Mississippi, Mississippi State, New Mexico, North Carolina State, Northwestern, Oklahoma State, Oregon State, Pepperdine, San Jose State, South Carolina, Southern California, Southern Methodist, Stanford, Texas Christian, Texas, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, Tulsa and Virginia. Five individuals will also be competing in the field.

After 54 holes of stroke play, the top 15 teams along with the top nine individuals not on an advancing team will…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Women’s Golf – Vanderbilt University Athletics – Official Athletics Website…