Golf News

2023 U.S. Open field includes 11 from LIV Golf; Tiger Woods withdraws

2023 U.S. Open field includes 11 from LIV Golf; Tiger Woods withdraws

While the PGA Championship is still visible in the rearview mirror, the next men’s major championship is quickly approaching on the horizon.

On Monday morning the USGA announced 33 players who have earned exemptions into the 2023 U.S. Open, June 15-18, at Los Angeles Country Club, bringing the current tally of exempt players to 84.

Exemptions were awarded to 25 players via their top-60 placement in the Official World Golf Ranking, including Jason Day and LIV Golf’s Patrick Reed. Tyrrell Hatton, No. 18 in the world, was the highest-ranked player who wasn’t previously exempt. After a T-4 at the PGA Championship, Cameron Davis jumped 19 spots to No. 49 and will compete in his first U.S. Open.

Eight other players earned exemptions via three additional categories, including the top five players not already exempt in the current PGA Tour FedEx Cup standings (Hayden Buckley, Mackenzie Hughes, Taylor Montgomery, Andrew Putnam and Nick Taylor) as well as the top two players not already exempt from the 2022 DP World Tour Final Points List (Thriston Lawrence and Jordan Smith). Min Woo Lee joins the field as the highest-ranked player on the current Race to Dubai Rankings who is not otherwise exempt.

Three-time U.S. Open champion Tiger Woods withdrew as an exempt player as he recovers from a recent surgery.

Ten past U.S. Open champions are in the field, including defending champion Jon Rahm, 2023 PGA champion Brooks Koepka and world No. 3 Rory McIlroy. Eleven LIV golfers have also qualified, including fellow past champions Bryson DeChambeau, Dustin Johnson and Martin Kaymer, as well as Phil Mickelson, Cameron Smith, Joaquin Niemann, Abraham Ancer, Thomas Pieters, Mito Pereira and Reed.

Here’s the full list of the 84 golfers who are fully exempt into the 2023 U.S. Open (as of Monday, May 22):

  • Abraham Ancer
  • K.H. Lee
  • Sam Bennett (a)
  • Min Woo Lee
  • Keegan Bradley
  • Shane Lowry
  • Hayden Buckley
  • Hideki Matsuyama
  • Sam Burns
  • Denny McCarthy
  • Patrick Cantlay
  • Matthew McClean (a)
  • Ben Carr (a)
  • Rory McIlroy
  • Wyndham Clark
  • Adrian Meronk
  • Corey Conners
  • Phil Mickelson
  • Joel Dahmen
  • Keith Mitchell
  • Cameron Davis
  • Francesco Molinari
  • Jason Day
  • Taylor Montgomery
  • Bryson DeChambeau
  • Taylor Moore
  • Weny Ding (a)
  • Collin Morikawa
  • Harris English
  • Joaquin Niemann
  • Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira
  • Alex Noren
  • Tony Finau
  • Mito Pereira
  • Matt Fitzpatrick
  • Victor Perez
  • Tommy Fleetwood
  • Thomas Pieters
  • Ryan Fox
  • J.T. Poston
  • Rickie Fowler
  • Aldrich Potgieter (a)
  • Adam Hadwin
  • Seamus Power
  • Brian Harman
  • Andrew Putnam
  • Padraig…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Golfweek…