NCAA Golf News

Husky Hall Of Fame Welcomes Class Of 2023

Husky Hall Of Fame Welcomes Class Of 2023

Related Links

Story Links

The University of Washington is proud to announce the Husky Hall of Fame Class of 2023. This year’s class has left an indelible mark on the hallowed hall of Husky Athletics. These athletes have been the driving force behind numerous national championships throughout the storied history of UW Athletics.

The Husky Hall of Fame’s Class of 2023, announced today, is as follows:

  • Ryan Brown, Track and Field, 2003-2007
  • Ashley Charters, Softball, 2005-2009
  • Steve Pelluer, Football, 1980-1983
  • Cody Pickett, Football, 1999-2003
  • Paige Mackenzie, Women’s Golf, 2001-2006
  • Jim Smith, Wrestling (Head Coach), 1967-1975
  • Isaiah Thomas, Men’s Basketball, 2008-2011
  • Krista Vansant, Volleyball, 2011-2014

This class features volleyball and men’s basketball players whose jerseys are already hanging in the rafters at Alaska Airlines Arena, two of the most successful quarterbacks to ever play in Husky Stadium, one of the UW’s greatest distance runners, a national college golf phenom, a leader on the 2009 Softball Championship team, and a college wrestling icon.

For many more details on each of the members of the Husky Hall of Fame Class of 2023, check out the linked document, with details on each. The new class will be inducted around the 2023 Homecoming game, Oct. 21 vs. Arizona State, with official ceremonies scheduled for the following day, Oct. 22.


The Husky Hall of Fame was created in 1979 and, in recent years, has named a new class every other year. The previous class in 2021 was highlighted by the “1969 – The Five Who Dared” when four Washington football players and one assistant coach, who, amid the social turbulence of the late 1960s, used their voice and their platform to protest racial injustice.


Each selection year, the Tyee Club solicits Husky Hall of Fame nominations from the public. For 2023 the selection committee, the members of which reviewed all nominees and collectively chose the new class of inductees, consisted of two Husky Hall of Fame members – Sonny Sixkiller (football) and Danielle Lawrie (softball) – athletic department staffers Erin O’Connell, Chip Lydum, and Jeff Bechthold; and Hall of Fame curator Dave Torrell.


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at University of Washington Athletics…