Golf News

TGL names New York franchise and owner

Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy’s TGL adds Atlanta as third team

Start spreading the news.

TGL, the new tech-forward, primetime, team golf league developed by Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy’s TMRW Sports in partnership with the PGA Tour, has announced the ownership of a team representing New York. The fourth of sixth ownership groups to be announced has been purchased by New York Mets owner Steven Cohen.

His TGL team representing New York will be managed by his family office, Cohen Private Ventures, and will compete in TGL’s first season launching in January 2024. The announcement was made on Thursday by Cohen and Mike McCarley, CEO, TMRW Sports and TGL. 

“As golf continues to grow in popularity, there’s a demand for enhanced access to the sport and the world’s top players,” said Cohen, chairman and CEO of Point72 and owner of the Mets since 2020, in a release. “TGL’s primetime schedule will offer an up-close, fast-paced, and innovative take on the sport that will appeal to traditional golf and new fans alike.”  

Said McCarley: “The addition of New York as a TGL team not only continues the success of adding major markets to TGL, but also adds an ownership group with strong ties to other major league teams and fanbases.” 

 TGL previously announced its first three of six ownership groups:

  • TGL Atlanta, led by Arthur M. Blank
  • TGL Boston, led by Fenway Sports Group
  • Los Angeles Golf Club led by Alexis Ohanian, Serena Williams, and Venus Williams; as well as limited partners, the Antetokounmpo brothers

TGL team names, brands, front office staff, and players will be unveiled later this year, as will the inaugural schedule and other operational and fan-centric elements of TGL. 

The primetime golf league will be staged in a purpose-built arena in Palm Beach, Fla., on the Palm Beach State College campus. Currently, 12 players committed to playing in TGL have been announced, including Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy, Jon Rahm, Justin Thomas, Collin Morikawa, Matt Fitzpatrick, Justin Rose, Adam Scott, Xander Schauffele, Max Homa, Rickie Fowler, and Billy Horschel. 


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Golfweek…