Golf News

What a 2024 major championship exemption for LIV Golf would look like

2023 U.S. Open

Rory McIlroy and Brooks Koepka talk on the 12th hole during the first round of the U.S. Open at Los Angeles Country Club. (Photo: Michael Madrid-USA TODAY Sports)

A total of 12 LIV players are exempt into the 2024 majors as past champions. But which ones?


Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Reed, Charl Schwartzel and Bubba Watson will be at the 2024 Masters as past champions. Bryson DeChambeau (U.S. Open), Brooks Koepka (PGA Championship) and Cameron Smith (British Open) will be there as recent major winners.

That’s nine compared to the 18 who drove down Magnolia Lane this spring.

PGA Championship

Past champions Martin Kaymer, Koepka and Mickelson will be joined by DeChambeau, Johnson and Smith at Valhalla next summer. That’s six players in next year’s field compared to 16 in last year’s championship.

U.S. Open

DeChambeau, Kaymer, Koepka and Johnson are in for Pinehurst, with Mickelson and Smith in as well. Similar to the PGA, that’s six players for 2024 after 15 teed it up at the USGA’s flagship event last year.

Open Championship

The 2024 British Open will feature past champions Mickelson, Smith, Louis Oosthuizen and Henrik Stenson, with DeChambeau, Johnson and Koepka in tow via other major victories. Sixteen competed last year at Royal Liverpool. Next year’s Open at Royal Troon will feature just seven.


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Golfweek…