NCAA Golf News

Lamprecht Named to Final Fall Haskins Award Watch List – Men’s Golf — Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets

Christo Lamprecht No. 1 in PGA Tour University Ranking – Men's Golf — Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets

Columbus, Ga. – Georgia Tech’s Christo Lamprecht, who posted a victory and a runner-up finish among four fall tournaments, is among 20 golfers named Thursday to the final fall watch list for the 2024 Fred Haskins Award, given annually to the nation’s top male United States collegiate golfer.

The senior from George, South Africa, won the Olympia Fields/Fighting Illini Invitational his first time out this fall, posting a tournament record score, then finished runner-up after losing a playoff at the Ben Hogan Collegiate Invitational. Lamprecht tied for 14th at the Golf Club of Georgia Collegiate Invitational and seventh in stroke play at the East Lake Cup, where he also won both of his matches. He was named a pre-season, first-team All-American by both Golf Channel and Golfweek magazine.

Currently No. 1 in the World Amateur Golf Ranking, Lamprecht also is No. 2 in the pre-season PGA Tour University ranking of the nation’s top eligible seniors. He won The Amateur Championship this summer and earned the Silver Medal as low amateur at The Open Championship. This fall, in between college events, he tied for eighth place individually at the World Amateur Team Championship.

Lamprecht is one of eight golfers who were named to the pre-season watch list and remain on the list at the end of the fall season.

Lamprecht aims to join four Georgia Tech golfers who have previously won the Fred Haskins Award: David Duval (1993), Stewart Cink (1995), Matt Kuchar (1998) and Bryce Molder (2001).

Tech returns to action to begin its spring season Feb. 8-10 at the Amer Ari Intercollegiate in Hawai’i.

Christo Lamprecht had a victory and a runner-up finish this fall. (photo courtesy of the University of Illinois)



  • Nick Dunlap, Alabama
  • Mats Ege, East Tennessee State
  • David Ford, North Carolina
  • Maxwell Ford, North Carolina
  • Gustav Fridmodt, TCU
  • Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida
  • Connor Gaunt, LSU
  • Alex Goff, Kentucky
  • Petr Hruby, Washington
  • Algot Kleen, East Tennessee State
  • Luke Kluver, Oklahoma
  • Jackson Koivun, Auburn
  • Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech
  • Sebastian Moss, Louisville
  • Matthew Riedel, Vanderbilt
  • Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt
  • Cole Sherwood, Vanderbilt
  • Owen Stamper, Middle Tennessee State
  • Preston Summerhays, Arizona State
  • Brendan Valdes, Auburn

Celebrating its 54th year, the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel is annually given to the top male U.S. collegiate golfer as voted on by only college golfers, coaches and members of the golf media. Past…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Men’s Golf – Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets…