NCAA Golf News

Record Number of ANWA Invites

From left to right: Kelly Xu, Sadie Englemann, Paula Martin Sampedro, Megha Ganne, Rachel Heck

AUGUSTA, Ga. — Invitations to the 2024 Augusta National Women’s Amateur were sent off last week and this year’s event features a heavy dosage of Cardinal red. Nine current and future Cardinal have accepted invitations to this year’s championship, which will take place April 3-6 in Augusta, Ga. This is the most invites for the ANWA in Stanford history.
2024 marks the fifth year of this prestigious event. Since 2019, a total of 31 active Cardinal have been invited to play in the ANWA. Megha Ganne and Rachel Heck are being invited for the fourth time in their careers, while Sadie Englemann and future Card Meja Örtengren are heading to Georgia for the second time. Paula Martin Sampedro, Kelly Xu, Leigh Chien, Andrea Revuelta, and Nora Sundberg will all play for the first time in their careers.


From left to right: Kelly Xu, Sadie Englemann, Paula Martin Sampedro, Megha Ganne, Rachel Heck

Beginning the week prior to the 88th Masters Tournament, the international field will compete across 54 holes of stroke play, with a cut to 30 players and ties taking place after 36 holes. The first two rounds will take place on the Island and Bluff nines at Champions Retreat Golf Club on April 3-4. The entire field will then play Augusta National for an official practice round on April 5. The final round will take place at Augusta National on Saturday, April 6 and will feature the competitors who made the cut.
The first and second rounds of the Augusta National Women’s Amateur will broadcast live on Golf Channel from Champions Retreat Golf Club. NBC Sports will produce and broadcast three hours of live final-round coverage of the event at Augusta National. Additionally, Golf Channel’s “Live From the Masters” commenced on Friday, April 5 at Augusta National to provide coverage of the Augusta National Women’s Amateur, the Drive, Chip and Putt National Finals and the Masters Tournament.
Stanford Invites By Year:
2019 (5): Andrea Lee, Brooke Seay, Albane Valenzeual (did not play), Angelina YeRose Zhang
2020: No event
2021 (6): Sadie EnglemannMegha GanneRachel HeckAline Krauter (did not play), Angelina YeRose Zhang
2022 (7): Megha GanneRachel HeckAline KrauterBrooke Seay (did not play), Caroline SturdzaAngelina YeRose Zhang
2023 (4): Megha GanneRachel HeckBrooke SeayRose Zhang
2024 (9): Leigh Chien, Sadie Englemann, Megha Ganne, Rachel Heck, Meja Örtengren, Andrea Revuelta, Paula Martin Sampedro, Nora…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Stanford University Athletics…