NCAA Golf News

Herendeen Named to Ben Hogan Award Watch List

Herendeen Named to Ben Hogan Award Watch List

FORT WORTH, Texas – Fighting Illini golfer Max Herendeen has been named to the 2024 Ben Hogan Award Watch List, as announced Friday (Feb. 9) by the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, the Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

Herendeen is among 40 collegiate golfers – one of only six freshmen – named to the watch list for the prestigious award.

Herendeen enters the team’s spring schedule at No. 18 in the latest NCAA Men’s Division I individual rankings released Wednesday, Feb. 7. A native of Bellevue, Wash., he began his Fighting Illini career in September by leading the Orange and Blue to the team title at the Sahalee Players Championship in Sammamish, Wash., where he finished second individually via a playoff. Herendeen also finished first among the Illini’s competitors with a T13 finish at the OFCC/Fighting Illini Invitational, then posted a T6 at the Purdue Fall Invitational and a T20 at the Dayton Flyer Invitational. Herendeen closed his fall slate with a team-best stroke average of 70.27 through 11 rounds over the team’s four stroke-play events, with a team-leading six rounds of par or better and an individual head-to-head record of 268-36-9.

The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank annually awards the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer based on all collegiate, amateur and professional events over the previous 12 months. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee, which votes during each stage of the process, is comprised of 30 leaders in collegiate, amateur and professional golf.

This year’s list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the watch list, will be unveiled Friday, April 19. That group will be pared down to three finalists on Thursday, May 2. The finalists will attend a black-tie dinner Monday, May 20, at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, where the winner will be crowned.


  • Max Herendeen, Illinois, Fr.
  • J.M. Butler, Auburn, Sr.
  • Cam Cappuzzo, Methodist, Sr.
  • Tiger Christensen, Arizona, Jr.
  • Wenyi Ding, Arizona State, Fr.
  • John Driscoll, Arkansas, Sr.
  • Mats Ege, East Tennessee State, Sr.
  • David Ford, North Carolina, Jr.
  • Maxwell Ford, North Carolina,…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at University of Illinois Athletics…