NCAA Golf News

Reigning National Champion Gators Tee off NCAA Championship Friday

Reigning National Champion Gators Tee off NCAA Championship Friday


Friday, May 24 – Wednesday, May 29
Location: Carlsbad, Calif. – Omni La Costa: North Course
Host: NCAA / University of Texas 
Course Par/Yardage: 72 / 7,538 yards
Tee Times: 4:17 p.m. on Friday and 10:57 a.m. on Saturday, TBD other days
Scoring: Golfstat 
Watch: Golf Channel 
Tickets: Click Here
Social Media: Twitter | Instagram | Facebook
No. 1 – Ian Gilligan
No. 2 – Parker Bell
No. 3 – Matthew Kress
No. 4 – John DuBois
No. 5 – Jack Turner 
Alternate – Quentin Debove


The reigning national champion Florida men’s golf team begins the NCAA National Championship on Friday at 1:17 p.m. PT / 4:17 p.m. ET at Omni La Costa (North Course). Round two is set for 7:57 a.m. PT / 10:57 p.m. ET.

Florida enters as the No. 12 seed and are paired with No. 10 Arizona and No. 11 Illinois.   


Play consists of four days of stroke play (18 each day) starting Friday, which features a 54-hole cut with the top-15 teams and nine individuals on a non-advancing team a spot in the final round of stroke play on Monday.

After the final 18 holes, the top-8 teams will advance to match play and a 72-hole individual champion is crowned. The team national champion will be determined by a match-play format features the quarterfinals and semifinals conducted on Tuesday, followed by the finals on Wednesday.


Golf Channel will start its broadcast of the tournament on Monday, May 27 for the final round of stroke play starting a 6 p.m. On Tuesday, May 28 quarterfinal coverage will go from 12-2:30 p.m. followed by the semifinals broadcasted starting at 6 p.m. The finals match broadcast begins at 6 p.m. on Wednesday, May 29.


Florida will make its 57th NCAA Championships experience, which leads the SEC and ranks fifth-most in the country. The Gators have only missed qualifying twice under head coach J.C. Deacon. UF has claimed five national titles – 1968, 1973, 1993, 2001, 2023 – which ranks tied for most among SEC schools and eighth all-time. The program has also finished runner-up four times (1967, 1974, 1990, 2006) for a total 18 top-5 finishes.

UF has made the championship in 20 of the last 22 tournaments as its 57th appearance is fifth most in the nation behind Oklahoma State (75), Texas (68), USC (58) and Arizona State (58). Individually, Florida has touted the top finisher three times- Bob Murphy in 1966, Nick Gilliam in 2001 and Fred Biondi in 2023.


No. 1…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Florida Gators…