Golf News

2024 US Open prize money payouts for each player at Pinehurst No. 2

2024 US Open prize money payouts for each player at Pinehurst No. 2

PINEHURST, N.C. — Bryson DeChambeau said he was going to celebrate winning the 124th U.S. Open with some chocolate milk. He can afford to buy a whole lot of it after winning $4.3 million, the richest winner’s prize in U.S. Open history.

The difference between first and second were a couple of short putts that Rory McIlroy missed on the 16th and 18th hole but it amounted to nearly $2 million — the payday differential between first and second.

In terms of payouts, Jackson Suber was the last man in the field after Jon Rahm withdrew with an injury and he made the cut. He struggled on the weekend and finished 73rd but still banked $39,113. Not bad for four days of getting to play golf at Pinehurst No. 2 when you’re a second-year Korn Ferry Tour member. And then there’s the amateurs, who went home with memories that will last a lifetime and experience that will help in future tournaments, but you wonder if Neal Shipley, who as low am was T-26 alongside Brooks Koepka, Tyrrell Hatton and Tom Kim, wouldn’t mind a check for $153,281, the amount the pros who finished T-26 took home. The way he’s played at the Masters and U.S. Open as an amateur bodes well for his accountant being kept busy in the future, but you never know.

Here’s a closer look at how much each player who made the cut in the 156-man field earned from a purse of $21.5 million.

U.S. Open prize money payouts

Position Player Score Earnings
1 Bryson DeChambeau -6 $4,300,000
2 Rory McIlroy -5 $2,322,000
T3 Patrick Cantlay -4 $1,229,051
T3 Tony Finau -4 $1,229,051
5 Matthieu Pavon -3 $843,765
6 Hideki Matsuyama -2 $748,154
T7 Russell Henley -1 $639,289
T7 Xander Schauffele -1 $639,289
T9 Sam Burns E $502,391
T9 Corey Conners E $502,391
T9 Davis Thompson E $502,391
T12 Sergio García 1 $409,279
T12 Ludvig Aberg 1 $409,279
T14 Collin Morikawa 2 $351,370
T14 Thomas Detry 2 $351,370
T16 Tommy Fleetwood 3 $299,218
T16 Akshay Bhatia 3 $299,218
T16 Taylor Pendrith 3 $299,218
T19 Aaron Rai 4 $255,759
T19 Shane Lowry 4 $255,759
T21 Max Greyserman 5 $203,607
T21 Stephan Jaeger 5 $203,607
T21 Min Woo Lee 5 $203,607
T21 Daniel Berger 5 $203,607
T21 Brian Harman 5 $203,607
T26 Brooks Koepka 6 $153,281
T26 Neal Shipley 6 $0
T26 Zac Blair 6 $153,281
T26 Tom Kim 6 $153,281
T26 Tyrrell Hatton 6 $153,281
T26 Chris Kirk 6 $153,281
T32 Cameron Smith 7 $110,894
T32 Sahith Theegala 7 $110,894
T32 S.W. Kim 7 $110,894
T32 Isaiah Salinda 7


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Golfweek…