NCAA Golf News

2023 Annika Award winner – Stanford University Athletics

2023 Annika Award winner - Stanford University Athletics

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. – Stanford record-setting sophomore Rose Zhang was announced as the winner of the prestigious Annika Award on Tuesday at Grayhawk Golf Club. Zhang, the 2023 individual NCAA Champion, won eight times this season and set a new NCAA single-season scoring average record (68.81).
Zhang became the first woman in NCAA history to win multiple titles, claiming back-to-back individual national championships. She overcame a four-stroke deficit on Monday, posting a 4-under 68 to win at 10-under 278.
Zhang’s 12 career wins (in 20 events) sets a new Stanford Golf record, surpassing Tiger Woods (26 events), Patrick Rodgers (35 events) and Maverick McNealy (45 events) who all won 11 times. Zhang matched Lorena Ochoa for the most wins in Pac-12 Women’s Golf history.
In winning eight times during the 2022-23 season, Zhang tied Ochoa (Arizona, 2001-02) and Renee Heiken (Illinois, 1992-93) for most wins in a single season in women’s collegiate golf history. Her eight wins also tied Tiger Woods’ eight victories from his historic 1995-96 sophomore season, which culminated in the national title.
Zhang became Stanford’s third straight Annika Award winner, a streak which Rachel Heck began in 2021.
Zhang joins Maria Fassi (Arkansas) and Leona Maguire (Duke) as the only multi-time winners of the award.
About The Annika Award
The Annika Award presented by Stifel, is presented annually to the top female U.S. collegiate golfer; the winner voted on by players, coaches and members of the golf media.
Named for and presented by Annika Sorenstam, the Annika Award is comprised of two primary components: a silver pedestal, which will display a commemorative plaque listing each yearly winner; and a hand-crafted, glass presentation trophy presented to the winner, with a copy given to the player’s College or University.

The blue presentation piece seeks to represent an ideal golf swing. Every glass piece is hand-crafted by female artist, Sally Denham. As every golf swing is different, so too are the individual glass sculptures. While similar in size and pattern, each exhibits subtle differences that make every trophy, like every golfer, unique.


The color pattern, from light on the back swing, darker through the bottom arc of the power stroke, then brightening at the follow through, demonstrating how every well-executed golf swing, all the hours on the practice range, all the sacrifice, culminates at the moment of impact.


Only three complete…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Stanford University Athletics…