Golf News

What to know about the 2023 Women’s World Amateur Team Championship

2022 Women's World Amateur Team Championship

It’s time for the 30th Women’s World Amateur Team Championship.

The Emirates Golf Federation will host the 2023 World Amateur Team Championships. The men’s and women’s championships were originally set to be held in Dubai but moved to Abu Dhabi, where they’ll be contested at the National Course at the Abu Dhabi Golf Club.

In another recent change, the order of play for the men’s and women’s championships will be reversed to avoid a conflict in dates with other prestigious tournaments, meaning the men played last week while the women will close out the festivities this week.

This marks the first time the event, which dates to 1964 on the women’s side, will be held in the Middle East. It also will be the first with a reduced scope of one golf course and 36 teams to lessen the cost and complexity of hosting the event, as approved at the IGF’s 2018 biennial meeting.

Here’s everything you need to know about the 2023 Women’s World Amateur Team Championship.

Sweden World Amateur Team, from left to right, Coach/Manager Fredrik Wetterstrand, Meja Ortengren, Louise Rydqvist and Playing Captain Ingrid Lindblad with the Espirito Santo Trophy during final round at the 2022 Women’s World Amateur Team Championship at Golf de Saint-Nom-la-Bretéche in Paris, France on Saturday, Aug. 27, 2022. (Copyright USGA/Steven Gibbons)

Each team has two or three players and plays 18 holes of stroke play for four days. In each round, the total of the two lowest scores from each team constitutes the team score for the round. The four-day (72-hole) total is the team’s score for the championship.

(left to right) Lara El Chaib, Jamie Camero, Intissar Rich and Flora Peuch of the United Arab Emirates pose for a photo with the Espirito Santo Trophy during practice round of the Women’s World Amateur Team Championship at Abu Dhabi Golf Club, United Arab Emirates on Monday, Oct. 23, 2023 (Copyright USGA/Steven Gibbons)

The winning team in the women’s competition receives custody of the Espirito Santo Trophy for the ensuing two years. Members of the winning teams receive gold medals, members of the second-place teams receive silver medals and members of the third-place teams receive bronze medals. The lowest individual score in each championship is recognized at the respective closing ceremony, but no prize is awarded.

Anna Davis of the United States of America at the 15th tee during…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Golfweek…