NCAA Golf News

Lamprecht Named to Ben Hogan Award Watch List – Men’s Golf — Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets

Tech Finishes Runner-up at Golf Club of Georgia – Men's Golf — Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets

THE FLATS – Georgia Tech’s Christo Lamprecht, the world’s top-ranked amateur player, is one of 40 of the nation’s most accomplished collegiate golfers across all levels who have been named to the watch list for the 2023 Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank. The joint announcement was made Friday by the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, the Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank annually awards the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer based on all collegiate, amateur and professional events over the previous 12 months.

In the last year, Lamprecht won The Amateur Championship and finished as the low amateur at The Open Championship, ascending to the top position in the World Amateur Golf Ranking and earning exemptions into the fields of the upcoming Masters Tournament and the U.S. Open. He also represented his home country of South Africa in the Arnold Palmer Cup and the World Amateur Team Championship. The 6-foot-8 senior won two collegiate events in the fall, the Olympia Fields/Fighting Illini Invitational and the Ben Hogan Collegiate Invitational.

Christo Lamprecht won The Amateur Championship last summer and two collegiate events in the fall. (photo courtesy of the R&A)


The 2024 Ben Hogan Award watch list, as determined by the award’s subcommittee, includes J.M. Butler (Auburn), Cameron Cappuzzo (Methodist), Tiger Christensen (Arizona), Wenyi Ding (Arizona State), John Driscoll (Arkansas), Mats Ege (East Tennessee State), David Ford (North Carolina), Maxwell Ford (North Carolina), Gustav Frimodt (TCU), Nick Gabrelcik (North Florida), Gaspar Glaudas (Indian Hills CC), Alex Goff (Kentucky), Austin Greaser (North Carolina), Max Herendeen (Illinois), Petr Hruby (Washington), Ben James (Virginia), Johnny Keefer (Baylor), Algot Kleen (East Tennessee State), Jackson Koivun (Auburn), Michael La Sasso (Ole Miss), Christo Lamprecht (Georgia Tech), Hunter Logan (Mississippi State), Christiaan Maas (Texas), Dylan Menante (North Carolina), Maxwell Moldovan (Ohio State), William Moll (Vanderbilt), Omar Morales (UCLA), Sebastian Moss (Louisville), Sangha Park (UT Permian Basin), Luke Powell (UCLA), Matthew Riedel (Vanderbilt), Gordon Sargent (Vanderbilt), Herman Sekne (Purdue), Cole Sherwood (Vanderbilt), Neal Shipley (Ohio State), Preston Summerhays (Arizona State), Will Thompson (East Central CC), Michael Thorbjornsen (Stanford), Brendan Valdes…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Men’s Golf – Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets…