NCAA Golf News

Bebich named Pac-12 Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Bebich named Pac-12 Men's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year

CAREFREE, Ariz. (April 25, 2024) – Washington State men’s golf senior Preston Bebich was named the 2023-24 Pac-12 Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the Conference office announced Thursday morning.

The award, which is presented in each of the 24 sports the Pac-12 sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

The senior from Gig Harbor, Wash., carries a 3.92 grade-point average in economic sciences and becomes the first Cougar men’s golfer to earn the league’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor.

Bebich is enjoying the best season of his career with a 70.97 scoring average and four top-10 finishes entering the Pac-12 Championships, highlighted by a runner-up showing at the Visit Stockton Pacific Invite and subsequent Pac-12 Men’s Golfer of the Week honor in October.

Off the course, he has twice been named to the Pac-12 Spring Academic Honor Roll (2021, 2023) and is a member of the WSU President’s Honor Roll.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2007-08 academic year.

ALSO NOMINATED: Sam Sommerhauser, Arizona; Sampson Zheng, California; Nate Stember, Oregon; Jackson Lake, Oregon State; Javier Barcos, Utah; Teddy Lin, Washington.

Pac-12 Men’s Golf…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Washington State University Athletics…