NCAA Golf News

No. 18 Illinois Begins B1G Title Chase Friday

No. 18 Illinois Begins B1G Title Chase Friday

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Fighting Illini men’s golf team, No. 18 nationally in the NCAA Collegiate Golf team rankings and 17th in the most recent GCAA Coaches Top-25 poll, tees off this week at Scioto Country Club for the 2024 Big Ten Men’s Golf Championship.

The Orange and Blue are in search of their ninth consecutive conference title, their 14th in the last 15 league championships dating back to the 2008-09 season, and the program’s 21st Big Ten crown overall.


The 2024 Big Ten Men’s Golf Championship is hosted at Scioto Country Club. Designed as the first 18-hole golf course in central Ohio by renowned Scottish-born architect Donald Ross, it later became the club where golf’s greatest player, Jack Nicklaus, learned the game.

With the opening of the golf course in 1916, the club quickly gained national stature as a preeminent facility and a decade later hosted the 1926 U.S. Open Championship won by golfing legend Bobby Jones. This started the rich tournament tradition that Scioto enjoys as one of only five golf courses in the United States to have hosted five different major championships. The 1931 Ryder Cup, the 1950 PGA Championship, the 1968 U.S. Amateur, and the 1986 Senior U.S. Open each added to the tournament legacy and prestige of the Club. During its centennial year in 2016, the club again hosted the U.S. Senior Open, its sixth major championship held at Scioto.

The golf course has been acclaimed around the world as a strategic routing and a course that demands precise shot-making. The golf course was renovated in 2021 by Andrew Green to restore the original Donald Ross course that hosted the 1926 National Open and the 1931 Ryder Cup. Today, the course provides a great test to the finest players in the world. The USGA will return to Scioto for the 2026 U.S. Senior Open and the 2036 U.S. Amateur Championship.


The 54-hole tournament will be played over three days, Friday-Sunday, with 18 holes slated for each day. The low four scores will count towards the team score in each round. Tee times for Friday and Saturday begin at 9 a.m. ET/8 a.m. CT. Sunday’s final round is scheduled to tee off beginning at 8 a.m. ET/7 a.m. CT and will be immediately followed by the awards ceremony.


The field includes all 14 Big Ten men’s golf programs. The Illini, No. 18 in the…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at University of Illinois Athletics…