NCAA Golf News

Head Coach Justin Silverstein Named to WGCA Coach of the Year Watch List

Head Coach Justin Silverstein Named to WGCA Coach of the Year Watch List

Women’s Golf | May 15, 2024

USC Head Coach Justin Silverstein, who led the Trojans to four tournament wins, including a first-place finish at the NCAA East Lansing Regional, was named to the Jackie Steinmann WGCA National Coach of the Year watch list; the WGCA announced Wednesday, May 15. 

The award will be announced after medal play at the upcoming NCAA Championship. The recipient is selected by a prestigious collection of women’s collegiate golf coaches who follow criteria that has been established to identify the top head coach for the past year.

This is the fourth consecutive season Silverstein has made the WGCA Coach of the Year Watch List.

The sixth-year coach has directed USC to four tournament titles this season, including the Leadership and Golf Invitational, Stanford Intercollegiate, Silverado Showdown, and East Lansing Regional. With the regional win, Silverstein punched the Women of Troys ticket to their 26th straight trip to the NCAA Championships. 

Silverstein continued an impressive feat with the regional win. As head coach, he has won a postseason event every year. 

Silverstein helped guide two starters to All-Pac-12 status, as sophomore Catherine Park and junior Amari Avery made the first team cut. Park was also named to the PING/WGCA Player of the Year Watch list earlier today. 

Division I Jackie Steinmann WGCA National Coach of the Year Presented by Golf Pride Watch List


·         Greg Allen, Vanderbilt University

·         Kalen Anderson, University of South Carolina

·         Amy Bond, Florida State University

·         Dan Brooks, Duke University

·         Gerrod Chadwell, Texas A&M University

·         Dana Dormann, San Jose State University

·         Charlie Ewing, Mississippi State University

·         Missy Farr-Kaye, Arizona State University

·         Emily Fletcher, Northwestern University

·         Laurie Gibbs, Pepperdine University

·         Kory Henkes, University of Mississippi

·         Kelley Hester, Clemson University

·         Kim Lewellen, Wake Forest University

·         Melissa Luellen, Auburn University

·         Lauren Mason, Southern Methodist University

·         Ryan Murphy,…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at USC Athletics…