NCAA Golf News

Kuhl Named to Spring Haskins Award Watch List

Kuhl Named to Spring Haskins Award Watch List

COLUMBUS, Ga. – Fighting Illini fifth-year senior golfer Tommy Kuhl has been named as one of 15 collegiate standouts on the first spring watch list for the Fred Haskins Award, announced Friday (March 10) through Haskins Award media partners Golf Channel and Golfweek.

Kuhl has continued a stellar run that dates back to last season when he closed as the Illini’s top finisher at the NCAA New Haven Regional and narrowly missed an individual berth to the NCAA Championship. This fall Kuhl, a 2022 All-Big Ten first team honoree from Morton, Ill., opened the year with top-five finishes in three of the team’s four events; he recorded a solo fifth at Olympia Fields, followed by a tie for fifth at the Folds of Honor and a share of fourth at the Dayton Flyer Invite, both Illinois team wins. He closed the Illini’s fall slate with a tie for 15th at Isleworth.

Over two February tournaments to open the spring schedule, Kuhl remains a driving factor in Illinois’ team success, helping the Illini to back-to-back tournament wins with a runner-up individual showing at the Hal Williams Collegiate, followed by a tie for third to lead the Orange and Blue to victory at the prestigious Southern Highlands Collegiate.

Through 18 rounds on the season, Kuhl has posted a team-leading 14 at par or better, and ranks first on the team with a stroke average of 70.1. Kuhl was initially added to the Haskins Award watch list in October, as well as the Hogan Award watch list in January.

Kuhl is currently ranked No. 7 nationally in the latest Golfstat NCAA player rankings released Tuesday, and No. 19 in the most recent PGA Tour University rankings released Thursday..


•    Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech

•    Cole Anderson, Florida State

•    David Ford, North Carolina

•    Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida

•    Ian Gilligan, Long Beach State

•    Austin Greaser, North Carolina

•    Benjamin James, Virginia

•    Tommy Kuhl, Illinois

•    Christian Lamprecht, Georgia Tech

•    Yuxin Lin, Florida

•    Christiaan Maas, Texas

•    Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt

•    Calum Scott, Texas Tech

•    Cole Sherwood, Vanderbilt

•    Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford

About the Fred Haskins Award

Celebrating its 53rd year, the Fred Haskins Award presented…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at University of Illinois Athletics…