NCAA Golf News

Lin Named to Spring Haskins Award Watch List

Lin Named to Spring Haskins Award Watch List

COLUMBUS, Ga. – Florida men’s golfer Yuxin Lin was named to the Spring Haskins Award Watch List on Friday, the Haskins Foundation announced.

Celebrating its 53rd year, the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel is considered the most prestigious award in collegiate golf, and is presented annually to the most outstanding male golfer. The winner of the oldest individual college golf award is voted on by players, coaches, golf SIDS, and select golf media members and will be announced in early June.

Lin recently won his first collegiate tournament at the Southern Highlands, earning an exemption in the PGA’s Shriners Open in October. The senior earned SEC Player of the Week honors for the performance and leads the team in stroke average (69.5), low-18 (-8) and low-54 (-13) relation to par with three top-5, four top-10 and seven top-25 finishes. The lefty also has posted 16 out of his 21 rounds even or under par.

The Beijing native also jumped up seven spots to No. 11 in PGA Tour U and is ranked No. 29 in WAGR, climbing 13 spots. He is ranked No. 10 in Golfstat and No. 16 in Golfweek. 

Last year, Fred Biondi was named a finalist and Castillo earned finalist honors in 2020.

The program has had one winner of the award, which came in 1979 by Phil Hancock. He was a three-time All-American, a two-time Southeastern Conference Champion and played on the 1973 National Championship team. 

Springs Haskins Award Watch List

Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech

Cole Anderson, Florida State

David Ford, North Carolina

Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida

Ian Gilligan, Long Beach State

Austin Greaser, North Carolina

Benjamin James, Virginia

Tommy Kuhl, Illinois

Christian Lamprecht, Georgia Tech

Yuxin Lin, Florida

Christiaan Maas, Texas

Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt

Calum Scott, Texas Tech

Cole Sherwood, Vanderbilt

Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford



Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Florida Gators…