NCAA Golf News

Lignell, Macnab Named to Golf Channel’s Preseason All-America Teams

Lignell, Macnab Named to Golf Channel’s Preseason All-America Teams

OXFORD, Miss. – A pair of Ole Miss women’s golfers were named to the second team of the Golf Channel’s Preseason All-America list, as announced by the Golf Channel on Friday.
Andrea Lignell and Caitlyn Macnab found themselves amongst 30 of the nation’s top collegiate women’s golfers named to one of the All-America Teams.
Lignell was a key player on last year’s team as she appeared in the Rebel lineup for all 12 competitions and was Ole Miss’ lowest finisher in six tournaments. She had a breakout junior campaign with two wins and three other top-three showings.
Last year, the Gothenburg, Sweden, native racked up the awards by being named a First Team WGCA All-American, an All-SEC First Team honoree and individually finished tied for fourteenth at the NCAA Championship which is the third-highest finish in program history.
Macnab’s last two years at TCU has been nothing short but impressive. She played in 23 total tournaments, compiling a career 71.73 stroke average and logged 11 top-10 finishes. Macnab also posted four top-5 finishes in 2022-23 and won her first collegiate individual title at the Schooner Fall Classic.
The Johannesburg, South Africa, native is a two-time WGCA All-American and was named to the All-Big 12 team both seasons. She was also slated as the 2022 Big 12 Freshman of the Year after breaking multiple program records with the Horned Frogs.
Lignell, Macnab and the rest of the Rebel squad will commence their fall season Sep. 11-12 at the Cougar Classic in Charleston, S.C.
For all Ole Miss women’s golf latest news and information, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissWGolf, on Instagram at OleMissWGolf and on Facebook at Ole Miss Women’s Golf. General athletic news can also be found at @OleMissSports on Twitter, Ole Miss Sports on Facebook, and OleMissAthletics on Instagram.

Golf Channel’s Preseason All-America Teams

First Team

1. Ingrid Lindblad, Gr., LSU

2. Rachel Kuehn, Gr., Wake Forest

3. Julia Lopez Ramirez, Jr., Mississippi State

4. Amari Avery, Jr., USC

5. Rachel Heck, Sr., Stanford

6. Cayetana Fernandez Garcia-Poggio, Fr., Texas A&M

7. Hannah Darling, Jr., South Carolina

8. Charlotte Heath, Gr., Florida State

9. Lottie Woad, Soph., Florida State

10. Megan Schofill, Gr., Auburn

Second Team

11. Amanda Sambach, Jr., Virginia

12. Latanna Stone, Gr.,…


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Ole Miss Athletics…